Edgewater Garden Club

sea pinks


The Edgewater Garden Club meets generally on the 4th Thursday of each month, at 10 a.m. at the Samish Island Community Center.


All islanders are invited to be members. Annual dues are $20 and include membership on the garden e-group, interesting meetings and speakers, food and social time before meetings. Send dues to the current treasurer. We will add you to the e-group mailing list in early September, before the meeting.


Each meeting of the club involves a knowledgeable speaker or expert who works with various plants, trees, or other environmental-related topics. All islanders are invited to attend these presentations.

Island Sign:

The Garden Club manages the Samish Island sign at the Island entrance. When needed, they contract with sign companies to repair or replace the sign. Funds are saved from projects and sales for this purpose, sometimes supplemented by fundraisers.

  • Please use tacks (bring some, there may be none available) at all four corners of your handout to avoid littering neighbor's yards.
  • Islanders may post information relating to island activities, events, rentals.
  • Please no staples or nails in the wood frames.
  • No commercial advertising. Please use the Samish Neighbors or Garden Club e-groups for personal or family sales items.

Holiday Kickoff

For many years, the Edgewater Garden Club made wreaths and swags for sale, in an effort to encourage islanders to decorate mailboxes and doors, to show holiday spirit.

As of 2017, the Garden Club now sponsors the “Holiday Kick-off” on the first Saturday of December. This event is held at the Samish Island Community Center on Blue Heron Road. Islanders and guests can purchase holiday gifts from the Garden Club and island artists, learn how to make wreaths and swags from garden club members (who also provide written directions for use at home), and to share holiday edible goodies and coffee with friends and neighbors at the Community Center.

Join us next December for this all-community event.

2019-2020 Officers

  • Fran Hansen – President
  • Sharon Minor – Vice President
  • Bonnie McFarland – Treasurer
  • Noma Edwards – Secretary